Students meet with their tutor every morning

The Form Tutor is a key member of staff and is responsible for establishing a happy, secure and supportive relationship with his/her tutor group. Students in turn feel secure in having someone to whom they can look to for support and guidance.

We have four Houses, Austen, Bronte, Shakespeare and Tolkien. Each House has identifiable colours and students in a particular House wear a tie, which reflects the House colour. A Head of House leads individual Houses.
The House system also provides students with the opportunity to participate collectively in a wide range of activities. We are able to offer students a whole range of competitions, which include sport, quizzes, bake off and many more. The programme of events is ever changing, catering for the varied interests of our students. It has proved to be a valuable addition to our extra-curricular programme of events.

All house points gained from competitions will count towards the house totals to see which house is crowned champions. Throughout the school year we take the opportunity to celebrate the many successes and triumphs of our students. We celebrate this in House assemblies, via the monthly “Newsletter” and by participating and supporting various activities.
AUSTEN (BLUE) – Head of House: Mr D Fielder
Year Group Form Tutor Room Fire Position
7A Miss H Farmer Q4 1
8A Mrs S Ravenscoft Q26 2
9A Mrs S Bajwa & Mrs C Holmes Q21 & S1 3
10A Mr B Stevens Q1 4
11A Mr E Blake S6 5
BRONTE (GOLD) – Head of House: Ms K Davis
Year Group Form Tutor Room Fire Position
7B Mrs J Griffiths Q9 7
8B Mr P Tindall S3 8
9B Mr N Dyke Q24 9
10B Miss J Alton Q3 10
11B Mrs C Gould Q10 11
SHAKESPEARE (SILVER) – Head of House: Mrs M McCarthy / Mr J Mcfarlane
Year Group Form Tutor Room Fire Position
7S Mrs H Down D8 13
8S Miss V Smith D6 14
9S Mrs A Poole & Mrs K Broad Wood S4 & Q11 15
10S Mr R Baker D1 16
11S Mr V Smith M1 17
TOLKIEN (GREEN) – Head of House: Mr S Frost
Year Group Form Tutor Room Fire Position
7T Mrs M Wright Q2 19
8T Mrs H Cornwall Q12 20
9T Mr J Stephenson S2 21
10T Mr P Till Q22 22
11T Mr M Ryder Q23 23